MANAGEMENT

The Executive Board, Supervisory Board and our Executive Committee work hand in hand for CO.DON’s ongoing development. Meet our team.

EXECUTIVE BOARD

The Executive Board of CO.DON AG is responsible for managing the company. It acts independently and is responsible for the company meeting the objectives laid down in its articles of association. To this end it takes the necessary entrepreneurial measures, i.e. decisions on staffing, finances and strategy.

A team of division managers assists the Executive Board with the development and implementation of the company strategy. They form the Executive Committee.

Tilmann Bur

Executive Board

Tilmann Bur, born in 1964, has been a board member of CO.DON AG since June 2019 and since 16 January 2020 he is the sole member of the board.

Tilmann Bur is an internationally experienced sales and marketing manager. With over 20 years’ experience he worked in professional relationship management with decision-makers in orthopedic and surgical clinics in particular, as well as in setting up and managing national and international sales organizations and distribution networks.

After completing his education and subsequently working in various hospitals as a manager for the operating theatre, Tilmann joined Haemonetics in 1999, where he initially worked as a product specialist for complex products in the field of blood management for orthopaedics and cardio surgery. After gaining additional business management qualifications, he held various national and international positions, for example, as Head of Sales and Authorised Representative for Haemonetics Germany, as Marketing Director at Haemonetics Europe and Managing Director at Haemonetics Austria. After working for Biosafe as Director Global Sales and Marketing, as well as a member of the leadership team, Tilmann joined R-Biopharm as Director Global Sales for the division of food and feed analysis followed by his positions as Vice President Clinical Diagnostics. In this function, as an Authorised Representative he was also a member of the senior management team.

 

SUPERVISORY BOARD

The Supervisory Board of CO.DON advises the Executive Board regularly on the management of the company. It verifies that company management is lawful, fit for purpose and cost-effective and in carrying out its tasks works closely with the other company decision-making bodies for the good of the company. The CO.DON Supervisory Board is made up of representatives of our shareholders and of independent business and financial experts. Its balanced membership ensures that the board is diverse and competent. The Supervisory Board consists of six members.

Prof. Hans B. Bauerfeind

Chairman

Prof. Bauerfeind is a German businessman and chairman of the board of Bauerfeind AG. He was born in 1940 in Zeulenroda (Thuringia, Germany), where his grandfather, Bruno Bauerfeind, had bought a small elastic stocking factory in 1929. In 1949 Hans B. Bauerfeind and his parents fled to Darmstadt, where his father rebuilt the business. Hans B. Bauerfeind joined the company in 1962 and developed it into one of the world’s leading manufacturers of medical compression stockings, bandages, orthoses (braces) and orthopaedic insoles.

With the acquisition of the company Diedrich Grate Nachfolger in Kempen am Niederrhein in 1972, Hans B. Bauerfeind laid the foundations for expansion and growth. In the early 1980s he established the first subsidiaries abroad, including branches in Austria, the USA, Switzerland, France and the Netherlands.

After German reunification he returned to Zeulenroda in 1991 and built new production facilities there. Zeulenroda has been the central headquarter of the family business since 1997.

He has received several awards for his entrepreneurial and philanthropic work, including the German Order of Merit in 2002. In November 2007 Hans B. Bauerfeind was made an honorary professor of Münster University of Applied Sciences.

Prof. Hans B. Bauerfeind was elected to the Supervisory Board of CO.DON AG for the first time in 2016.

Thommy Stählin

Deputy Chair

Mr Stählin obtained his Federal Banking Diploma (the highest banking qualification in Switzerland) in 1985 and then worked as an authorised signatory of Schweizerischer Bankverein in Zurich. In 1988 he moved for two years to American Express Bank AG (Switzerland), where he held the position of Vice-President and Head of Commercial Banking. In 1990 Mr Stählin became managing director of Manpower AG, Zurich, before joining INSPI CONSULTING AG, Zurich (Denner Group) in 1992 as managing director.

Thommy Stählin founded stählin consulting, a business consultancy, in 1999. He applies his extensive experience and wide-ranging commercial expertise to advise small and medium-sized companies, especially in strategic planning. In addition, he holds numerous directorships, also of publicly listed companies.

Thommy Stählin was elected to the Supervisory Board of CO.DON AG for the first time in 2005.

Prof. Dr. Barbara Sickmüller

Prof. Barbara Sickmüller is a pharmacist – she studied and completed her PhD at Philipps University in Marburg. Since 1977 she has held various roles in the federal German pharmaceutical association (BPI). She was appointed Deputy Managing Director of the BPI in 2000.

She has been a member of various expert committees and commissions convened by the German Federal Health Ministry, including the Expert Committee for Prescription Medicines, the Commission for Medicines for Children and Adolescents (KAKJ), a member of the Board of Trustees of the Institute for Quality and Cost-effectiveness in Healthcare (IQWiG) and a guest member of the Board of Trustees of the German Agency for Health Technology Assessment (HTA) within the DIMDI.

Professor Sickmüller was made an honorary professor of Philipps University Marburg in 2000. Prof. Sickmüller retired in March 2012 and since then has worked with the BPI as a Senior Scientific Advisor. On 1 July 2014 she became President of the German Society for Regulatory Affairs (DGRA) and on 1 October 2014 a member of the Advisory Board of Technical University Mittelhessen in Gießen.

Prof. Barbara Sickmüller was elected to the Supervisory Board of CO.DON AG for the first time in 2010.

Univ.-Prof. Dr.-Ing. habil. Prof. E.h. mult. Dr. h.c. mult. Hans-Jörg Bullinger

Prof. Dr. Hans-Jörg Bullinger was President of the Fraunhofer Society in Munich from 2002 to 2012 and Senator of the Fraunhofer Society from 2013-2018. Prof. Bullinger studied engineering, completing his PhD and habilitation degree at Stuttgart University before holding leading posts in applied research and teaching at a young age. He founded the Fraunhofer Institute for Ergonomics and Organisation (IAO) and the Institute for Ergonomics and Technology Management (IAT) at Stuttgart University.

Prof. Bullinger is a Fellow of the Royal Academy of Engineering (UK) and was a member of several High Level Groups convened by the European Commission (2012-2015). Along with Dr. Arend Oetker, Prof. Bullinger was Chair of the Business-Science research partnership set up by the Federal Ministry for Education and Research (2006-2012), which was the federal government’s main innovation policy advisory board, contributing to the development of Germany’s high-tech strategy 2020.

He has received many awards and several honorary doctorates and professorships. In 2009 Hans-Jörg Bullinger was voted Manager of the Year and in 2013 inducted into the Hall of Fame of German Research.

Prof. Dr. Hans-Jörg Bullinger was elected to the Supervisory Board of CO.DON AG for the first time in 2019.

Beatrix Bauerfeind-Johnson

Ms Beatrix Bauerfeind-Johnson obtained a bachelor’s degree in Management and French from the Kennesaw State University Atlanta, Georgia, USA, and continued her education with a master’s degree in International Business from the University of St. Andrews in Scotland. She also studied Environmental Sciences at the Open University of Hagen.

After working for several years as the Managing Director of Bauerfeind USA, Inc. in Atlanta, where she was responsible for sales and earnings, strategy and human resources, she moved to the company’s headquarters in Zeulenroda in 2008, where she held the position of Chief Financial and HR Officer from 2009. In 2015 she was appointed to the Supervisory Board of Bauerfeind AG.

Ms Bauerfeind-Johnson is Managing Director of BBJ Beteiligungsgesellschaft mbH.

Ms Bauerfeind-Johnson was elected to the Supervisory Board of CO.DON AG for the first time in 2016.

Thomas Krause

After completing his apprenticeship as a banker, Mr Krause studied banking at the Business School of Finance & Management in Frankfurt, before obtaining an MBA in BioMedTech from Potsdam University.

After several years with the savings bank Mittelbrandenburgische Sparkasse in Potsdam, he has worked since 2001 for Brandenburg Capital GmbH / Brandenburg Kapital GmbH (venture capital arms of the investment bank ILB), currently as Head of Venture Capital and Managing Director of Brandenburg Kapital GmbH. Mr Krause has seats on various supervisory and advisory boards.

Mr Thomas Krause was elected to the Supervisory Board of CO.DON AG for the first time in 2012.

MANAGEMENT

Vorstand, Aufsichtsrat und unser Executive Committee arbeiten Hand in Hand, um CO.DON stetig weiterzuentwickeln. Lernen Sie unser Team kennen.

VORSTAND

Der Vorstand der CO.DON AG ist für die Geschäftsführung zuständig. Er handelt eigenverantwortlich und ist dafür zuständig, dass das Unternehmen den in der Satzung festgehaltenen Zweck erfüllt. Dazu muss er die notwendigen unternehmerischen Maßnahmen, also die personellen, finanziellen und strategischen Entscheidungen treffen.

Zur Entwicklung und Umsetzung der Unternehmensstrategie steht dem Vorstand ein Team von Bereichsleitern zur Seite. Diese bilden das Executive Committee.

Tilmann Bur

Vorstand

Tilmann Bur, geb. 1964, ist seit Juni 2019 Vorstandsmitglied und seit dem 16. Januar 2020 alleiniger Vorstand der CO.DON AG.

Tilmann Bur ist ein international erfahrener Vertriebs- und Marketingmanager. Mit über 20 Jahren Erfahrung war er vor allem im professionellen Beziehungsmanagement mit Entscheidungsträgern insbesondere in orthopädischen und chirurgischen Kliniken sowie im Aufbau und Management nationaler und internationaler Vertriebsorganisationen und Händlernetzwerke tätig.

Nach seiner Ausbildung und anschließender Tätigkeit als abteilungsverantwortlicher OP Manager in verschiedenen Krankenhäusern, wechselte Tilmann Bur 1999 zu Haemonetics, wo er initial als Produktspezialist für komplexe Produkte im Bereich des Blutmanagements für die Orthopädie und Kardiochirurgie tätig war. Nach verschiedenen betriebswirtschaftlichen Zusatzqualifikationen arbeitete er in nationalen und internationalen Positionen, z.B. als Vertriebsleiter und Prokurist für Haemonetics Deutschland sowie als Marketing Director bei Haemonetics Europe und Geschäftsführer bei Haemonetics Österreich. Nach seiner Tätigkeit bei Biosafe als Director Global Sales and Marketing sowie als Mitglied der Geschäftsleitung begann Tilmann Bur bei R-Biopharm als Director Global Sales für den Bereich der Lebensmittel- und Futtermittelanalytik sowie nachfolgend als Vice President im Bereich Klinische Diagnostik. In dieser Funktion war er als Prokurist auch Mitglied der Geschäftsleitung.

 

AUFSICHTSRAT

Der Aufsichtsrat der CO.DON berät den Vorstand regelmäßig bei der Leitung des Unternehmens. Er überwacht die Rechtmäßigkeit, Zweckmäßigkeit und Wirtschaftlichkeit der Geschäftsführung und arbeitet bei der Wahrnehmung seiner Aufgaben vertrauensvoll mit den übrigen Organen der Gesellschaft zum Wohle des Unternehmens zusammen. Im Aufsichtsrat der CO.DON sind Vertreter unserer Investoren und unabhängige Experten aus der Wirtschafts- und Finanzwelt vertreten. Die ausgewogene Auswahl schafft ein diverses und kompetentes Kontrollgremium. Der Aufsichtsrat besteht aus sechs Mitgliedern.

Prof. Hans B. Bauerfeind

Aufsichtsratsvorsitzender

Herr Professor Hans B. Bauerfeind ist ein deutscher Unternehmer und Vorstandsvorsitzender der Bauerfeind AG. Er wurde 1940 in Zeulenroda (Thüringen) geboren, wo sein Großvater Bruno Bauerfeind 1929 eine kleine Gummistrumpfstrickerei erworben hatte. 1949 floh Hans B. Bauerfeind als Kind mit seinen Eltern nach Darmstadt, wo sein Vater die Firma neu aufbaute. 1962 stieg Hans B. Bauerfeind in den Betrieb ein und entwickelte das Unternehmen zu einem der weltweit führenden Hersteller von medizinischen Kompressionsstrümpfen, Bandagen, Orthesen und orthopädischen Einlagen.

Mit dem Erwerb der Firma Diedrich Grate Nachfolger in Kempen am Niederrhein setzte Hans B. Bauerfeind 1972 den Grundstein für Expansion und Wachstum. Anfang der 1980er Jahre gründete er erste Tochtergesellschaften im Ausland, darunter Niederlassungen in Österreich, in den USA, in der Schweiz, in Frankreich und in den Niederlanden.

Nach der Wiedervereinigung Deutschlands kehrte Bauerfeind 1991 nach Zeulenroda zurück und errichtete dort modernste Produktionsstätten. Seit 1997 ist Zeulenroda zentraler Firmensitz des Familienunternehmens.

Für sein unternehmerisches und gemeinnütziges Engagement erhielt Hans B. Bauerfeind mehrere Auszeichnungen, u.a. im Jahr 2000 das Bundesverdienstkreuz. Im November 2007 wurde ihm die Honorarprofessur der Fachhochschule Münster verliehen.

In den Aufsichtsrat der CO.DON AG wurde Prof. Hans B. Bauerfeind erstmals 2016 gewählt.

Thommy Stählin

Stellvertretender Aufsichtsratsvorsitzender

Herr Stählin erwarb 1985 den Abschluss als eidgenössisch diplomierten Bankfachmann (die höchste banktechnische Ausbildung in der Schweiz) und war anschließend als Prokurist beim Schweizerischen Bankverein in Zürich tätig. 1988 wechselte er für zwei Jahre zur American Express Bank AG (Schweiz), wo er das Amt des Vizedirektors und Leiters der Abteilung Commercial Banking innehatte. 1990 wechselte Herr Stählin als Geschäftsführer zur Manpower AG, Zürich, ehe er 1992 Geschäftsführender Direktor der INSPI CONSULTING AG, Zürich (Denner Gruppe) wurde.

Thommy Stählin gründete 1999 die stählin consulting, eine Unternehmensberatung mit Sitz in Zürich. Mit seiner langjährigen Erfahrung und umfangreichen unternehmerischen Expertise berät er kleine und mittelgroße Unternehmen, insbesondere bei der strategischen Planung. Daneben hat er zahlreiche Verwaltungsratsmandate, auch für börsennotierte Unternehmen, inne.

In den Aufsichtsrat der CO.DON AG wurde Thommy Stählin erstmals 2005 gewählt.

Prof. Dr. Barbara Sickmüller

Prof. Barbara Sickmüller ist Apothekerin und studierte und promovierte an der Philipps-Universität in Marburg. Seit 1977 war sie im Bundesverband der Pharmazeutischen Industrie e. V. (BPI) in verschiedenen Positionen tätig. Im Jahr 2000 wurde sie zur stellvertretenden Hauptgeschäftsführerin des BPI ernannt.

Sie war Mitglied verschiedener durch das Bundesministerium für Gesundheit berufener Sachverständigenausschüsse bzw. Kommissionen, u. a. in den Sachverständigenausschüssen für Verschreibungspflicht und Apothekenpflicht, der Kommission für Arzneimittel für Kinder und Jugendliche (KAKJ) sowie Mitglied des Kuratoriums des Instituts für Qualität und Wirtschaftlichkeit im Gesundheitswesen (IQWiG) und Gastmitglied im Kuratorium der Deutschen Agentur für Health Technology Assessment (HTA) beim DIMDI.

Frau Professor Sickmüller wurde im Jahr 2000 eine Honorarprofessur durch die Philipps-Universität Marburg verliehen. Frau Prof. Sickmüller ist im März 2012 in den Ruhestand getreten und seitdem als Senior Scientific Advisor beratend für den BPI tätig. Seit 01. Juli 2014 ist sie Präsidentin der Deutschen Gesellschaft für Regulatory Affairs (DGRA) und seit 01. Oktober 2014 Mitglied des Hochschulrates der Technischen Hochschule Mittelhessen in Gießen.

In den Aufsichtsrat der CO.DON AG wurde Frau Prof. Barbara Sickmüller erstmals 2010 gewählt.

Univ.-Prof. Dr.-Ing. habil. Prof. E.h. mult. Dr. h.c. mult. Hans-Jörg Bullinger

Prof. Dr. Hans-Jörg Bullinger war von 2002 bis 2012 Präsident der Fraunhofer-Gesellschaft in München und von 2013-2018 Senator der Fraunhofer-Gesellschaft. An der Universität Stuttgart studierte, promovierte und habilitierte Prof. Bullinger im Fachbereich Maschinenbau und übernahm früh leitende Positionen in der angewandten Forschung und Lehre. Er gründete und leitete 20 Jahre das Fraunhofer-Institut für Arbeitswirtschaft und Organisation IAO und das Institut für Arbeitswissenschaft und Technologiemanagement IAT an der Universität Stuttgart.

Prof. Bullinger ist Fellow der »Royal Academy of Engineering« (UK) und war Mitglied in mehreren »High Level Groups« der Europäischen Kommission (2012-2015). Gemeinsam mit Dr. Arend Oetker war Prof. Bullinger Vorsitzender der Forschungsunion Wirtschaft-Wissenschaft des Bundesministeriums für Bildung und Forschung (2006-2012), die das zentrale innovationspolitische Beratungsgremium der Bundesregierung zur Entwicklung der Hightech-Strategie 2020 für Deutschland bildete.

Für sein Engagement erhielt Prof. Bullinger zahlreiche Auszeichnungen und mehrere Ehrendoktorwürden und Ehrenprofessuren. 2009 wurde Hans-Jörg Bullinger zum »Manager des Jahres« gewählt und 2013 in die »Hall of Fame der deutschen Forschung« aufgenommen.

In den Aufsichtsrat der CO.DON AG wurde Prof. Dr. Hans-Jörg Bullinger erstmals 2019 gewählt.

Beatrix Bauerfeind-Johnson

Frau Beatrix Bauerfeind-Johnson absolvierte an der Kennesaw State University Atlanta, Georgia, U.S.A. ein Bachelorstudium in Management und Französisch und führte ihre Ausbildung mit einem Masterstudium in International Business an der University of St. Andrews, Schottland fort. Zusätzlich studierte sie Umweltwissenschaften an der Fernuniversität Hagen.

Nach einer mehrjährigen Tätigkeit als Geschäftsführerin der Bauerfeind USA, Inc. mit Sitz in Atlanta, GA, U.S.A., wo sie für Umsatz und Ergebnis, Strategieentwicklung sowie Human Ressources verantwortlich zeichnete, wechselte sie 2008 in die Firmenzentrale nach Zeulenroda, um hier ab 2009 die Funktion des Finanz- und Personalvorstandes zu bekleiden, ehe sie im Jahr 2015 in den Aufsichtsrat der Bauerfeind AG berufen wurde.

Frau Bauerfeind-Johnson ist Geschäftsführerin der BBJ Beteiligungsgesellschaft mbH.

In den Aufsichtsrat der CO.DON AG wurde Frau Bauerfeind-Johnson erstmals 2016 gewählt.

Thomas Krause

Nach seiner Ausbildung zum Bankkaufmann studierte Herr Krause Dipl.-Bankbetriebswirt an der Business School of Finance & Management, Frankfurt und schloss ein weiteres Studium an der Universität Potsdam als MBA BioMedTech ab.

Nach mehreren Jahren beruflicher Tätigkeit bei der Mittelbrandenburgischen Sparkasse in Potsdam ist er seit 2001 bei der Brandenburg Capital GmbH/Brandenburg Kapital GmbH (VC Tochtergesellschaften der ILB) beschäftigt, aktuell als Leiter Venture Capital bzw. Geschäftsführer der Fondsgesellschaft Brandenburg Kapital GmbH. Herr Krause hält verschiedene Aufsichts- bzw. Beiratsmandate.

In den Aufsichtsrat der CO.DON AG wurde Herr Thomas Krause erstmals 2012 gewählt.